Thurs Thoughts – Where do you place your fences?

We all use fences of some kind to protect ourselves from others.  At least that is what we tell ourselves when we put the fences up.  More often than not those fences become our own barriers to success and balance.

How many times to you find yourself telling yourself the same old story?  You know the one you hear day in and day out.  I had a time in my life that I went through that was the essence of this thought.

There was a period in my life that I felt that I couldn’t do anything right.  No matter what choice I made, there was someone there telling me it was the wrong choice.  From as simple as what to make for dinner to as complex as leaving a job/school & moving 1300 miles from the only home I knew.

At that point in time, I built the fence that “I’ll show them, I’ll make this thing work no matter if it kills me!”  AND, it almost did.  I found myself depressed and anxious to the point that I started looking for help.  When I finally started looking inside me, to find the answers, it was amazing how clear all the crap became.

So, my challenge to you today is to identify a fence, determine why you needed it when you built it, and decide if it is still something you need to keep up today.  You may find that taking down a fence or two will release you from some unwanted baggage that is holding you back.

Till next time.

Happiness & Joy,

Dyrene

This entry was posted in Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

