What’s Up on Wednesday – What do you do?

When someone asks you what you do, how do you respond??  Do you give them your JOB title, your vocation, your name or a combination of them all?

I was thinking today about how we are defined by the roles we have in our lives.  Mom/Dad, Daughter/Son, Sister/Brother, Aunt/Uncle, Cousin, Friend, employee, employer, Member of a group/organization etc…

Why is it that we define ourselves by the things we do?  I don’t think I know how else I would answer the question, but I was thinking that it just seems odd.

This is definitely a thought provoker.  I think I will spend some time over the next week thinking about this more.  Maybe I will have more insight, after your comments and a weeks worth of pondering.

Till next time.

Happiness & Joy,

Dyrene

This entry was posted in Tips. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What’s Up on Wednesday – What do you do?

  1. It all depends upon what context the meeting…
    If I am at a business networking event, that would entail one reply.
    At my synagogue, yet another.
    At my local coffee shop, a third…
    You get the drift

Leave a Reply

