Mindset Monday – Why do we need to know why?

WHY??

It seems like such a small question, but it also seems to cause the most distress in people.  The uncanny need to know why for everything.  Why is that???

My Coach recently told me I have to give up my “need to know why” before I do anything, or I will not continue to move forward.  At first, I was a little taken back.  BUT, how do I know if I’m making the right choice?  How do I know that this is what I need?  How do I feel comfortable and confident?  Whew!!!  Lots of fear there!!

In thinking about this need to know why, I realized that needing to know is only a defense mechanism to prevent me from making a mistake.  Why am I so afraid of making a mistake?  Well, my best guess is all the past mistakes that I’ve made have made me fearful of what others are going to say, and of “not being right”.

My biggest breakthrough was “WHO CARES!!”  Really, who cares if I make a mistake.  Mistakes are only bad if they make you run the other way or give up on a dream.  For the most part, mistakes are forgiven and you move on, learning from their mere presence in your life.

So, what is your reason behind your WHY???  Spend a few moments thinking about this and then GIVE IT UP!!!!!

Till next time.

Happiness & Joy,

Dyrene

This entry was posted in Mindset. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Mindset Monday – Why do we need to know why?

  1. Teresa Shepp says:

    Love this Dyrene! So hard to step out in faith.

  2. Great way to start the week. It’s the backlash of our childhood habit of continually asking that question. Difference is back then it was fun for us and frustrating for our parents. As adults, it’s simply frustrating!

  3. Dyrene, it is true, we sometimes over analyze instead of just going forward. And you mabye surprised how interested we are in your mistakes, how much more interesting they make you. Thanks for the post.

  4. I think I differ- greatly. I always want to know why- and I want my staff to know why- to know where the action(s) fit with our vision, mission, and goals.

  5. theyoucoach says:

    There’s always those that maybe need to think about the why a little more and those that need to give up on the obsession with HAVING to know the why. But this is the case with almost anything.

    I think it’s kind of funny though, that your response to this is to post a blog on WHY you need to know why. 😉

  6. theoddcoupleblogcom says:

    I agree with you that knowing why can be a stopping block. Its a protection that keeps us safe. As children we used the word to learn as adults we let it hold us back.

Leave a Reply

